no comments

Wycheproof Community Car Project

Wycheproof Community Car Project organisers are calling for more volunteer drivers and sponsors to join the campaign to purchase a new car for community use.

The car will be specifically used for to transport local residents to non-urgent medical appointments, which was previously done by Buloke Shire Council’s HACC program up until 2013.

More than $44,000 has been raised to date, through grants and donations, with the purchase of a brand new Nissan X-Trail which occurred late last year.

Current donations will be used for maintenance of the vehicle, including tyres, insurance and other expenses.

Bus Association Victoria is the most recent sponsor, and will cover the cost of registration for the next two years.

Wycheproof Community Resource Centre (WCRC) manager Averyll Loft is encouraging residents living in Wycheproof and surrounds to consider signing up as a volunteer driver to help ensure the success of the program.

“This is a really great opportunity for locals who enjoy the social interaction of volunteering,” she said.

“It’s also important to note that volunteer drivers are not required to commit to a roster or anything too rigid.

“It’s up to the volunteer how often they are available to drive, whether that’s once a month or once a week – it’s totally up to them.”

Ms Loft said the committee was currently working on the finer details of the project, such as training for volunteer drivers and signage for the car.

“There is still a lot to be done before we start taking bookings for the community car but we’re endeavouring to get it happening as soon as possible.

“We are very conscious of the number of people awaiting the service.”

Volunteer driver registration forms are available at WCRC. For more information, contact Averyll Loft on (03) 54937455.

Image Source – The Wycheproof Community Car, a new Nissan X-Trail, was launched last year following 12 months of fundraising within the community. Pictured are Buloke Shire Mayor David Pollard, WCRC former manager Jenna McNichol and committee members Jill Grant, Ann Durie and Ellen White at the launch.