no comments

Fire Ban Ending Across Parts of SA & Vic

Fire danger season will end for 6 districts across SA and a majority of districts across Victoria in the coming days.

South Australia’s Eastern Eyre Peninsula, West Coast, Lower Eyre Peninsula, Murraylands, Riverland, and Upper South East will all have fire bans lifted at midnight on April 15.

The Fire Danger Season will remain in place for Adelaide Metropolitan, Flinders (extended), Kangaroo Island, Lower South East, Mid North, Mount Lofty Ranges, and York Peninsula districts until further notice.

Fire restrictions are still in place following districts in Victoria, with Flow region Colac-Otway lifting restrictions Tuesday April 18.

The CFS is also reminding land managers to be aware of what Fire Ban District they are in and what restrictions apply.

State Coordinator Phil McDonough said “Many land managers will want to utilise the mild autumn weather to conduct burn offs, if the district is still within the Fire Danger Season then a permit will be needed.

“When the Season ends land managers may burn without a permit but it is essential they still consult and follow the Codes of Practice.

“They will also need to be aware of other restrictions under other legislation concerning native vegetation and the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA).”

Mr McDonough also mentioned people camping over Easter are able to have a comfort fire provided they follow guidelines and check restrictions if camping in a National Park or recreational reserve.

“Provided a Total Fire Ban is not in place you can have a comfort fire even within the Fire Danger Season, if it is within Adelaide metropolitan area or a township you will only be able to use charcoal as fuel as per the EPA legislation.

“Local residents should contact their local council for advice on burning-off and fire activities outside of the Fire Danger Season,” he said.